Elliptical Movements

A blog by Billy Mills

Susan L. Mitchell: Irish Woman Poet

with one comment

Susan L. Mitchell (1866 – 1926) was born in Leitrim and educated in Dublin. She knew most of the leading writers of the Revival, and worked with George Russell (AE) on both the Irish Homestead and the Irish Statesman. ‘Amergin’ was included in Russell’s 1905 anthology New songs: a lyric selection.

 

AMERGIN

I buzz in the dizzy fly. I crawl in the creeping things.
I croak in the frog’s throat, and fly on the bird’s wings.
I play on the keys of the brain ; a thought goes here and there,
Bird or beast, it has bounds, but I am everywhere.
I dip in the pools of the rocks, the minnow plays with me,
Finned I am like a fish, and merry children are we.
At the dumb call of the darkness I go to the ocean’s side,
I stand on the docile beach and bridle the eager tide.
The fretted waters I hold in the hollow of my hand:
From my heart go fire and dew, and the green and the brown land.

Written by Billy Mills

11/05/2014 at 13:57

Posted in Irish Women Poets, Poetry

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Susan L. Mitchell (1866 – 1926) was born in Leitrim and educated in Dublin. She knew most of the leading writers of the Revival, and worked with George Russell (AE) on both the Irish Homestead and …  […]


Comments are good, please leave one.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 694 other followers

