Lorna Reynolds: Irish Woman Poet

Of all the neglected 20th century Irish women poets to have disappeared into virtual limbo, Lorna Reynolds (1911 – 20030 ranks amongst the most completely forgotten. Although she published widely in magazines, her poems were never collected, and so she is remembered, if at all, for her work as a teacher and as editor of the Irish University Review. She was also a member of the Anti-Censorship Board and the Women’s Social and Progressive League. My Love Came Back To Me was published in The Lace Curtain 4 (Summer 1971).

My Love Came Back To Me

My love came back to me,
Wearing dead men’s clothes.
I did not know it was so,
But smelled the mould.

My love came back to me,
Bearing flowers from dead men’s bones,
I did not know it was so,
But felt the cold.

My love came back to me,
Smiling bright and suave;
But when he pressed his lips to mine
I knew his mouth a grave.

 

3 thoughts on “Lorna Reynolds: Irish Woman Poet

  1. Billy,

    Just goes to show that being both neglected and forgotten is no indicator of the quality of Lorna’s writing and poetic legacy.

    David

    Like

Comments are good, please leave one.

