Freda Laughton: Irish Woman Poet

Freda Laughton was born in Bristol in 1907 but moved to Down after her marriage. Her poetry was featured regularly in The Bell and she published a single collection, A Transitory House, in 1945. Rain on a Cottage Roof and The Woman with Child are both from this collection.

RAIN ON A COTTAGE ROOF

From within
Slight rain seems to purr;
A heavier shower murmur,
As bees hum.
 
Huge hands pummel and knead
The roof under
Thunder’s indigo stampede.
 
Rain hoofs thrum.
Now hear the house become
A drum.

 

THE WOMAN WITH CHILD

How I am held within a tranquil shell,
As if I too were close within a womb,
I too enfolded as I fold the child.
 
As the tight bud enwraps the pleated leaf,
The blossom furled like an enfolded fan,
So life enfold me as I fold my flower.
 
As water lies within a lovely bowl,
I lie within my life, and life again
Lies folded fast within my living cell.
 
The apple waxes at the blossom’s root,
And like the moon I mellow to the round
Full circle of my being, till I too
 
Am ripe with living and my fruit is grown.
Then break the shell of life. We shall be born,
My child and I, together, to the sun.

One thought on “Freda Laughton: Irish Woman Poet

Comments are good, please leave one.

