Moireen Fox: Irish Woman Poet

Moireen Fox (1183 – 1972) was born Olive Agnes Fox and published under a range of pseudonyms, including her married name, de Cheavassa. She shared a home with Ella Young for a time and through her met the leading figure of the Revival. The Fairy Lover was anthologised by Padraic Colum in his 1922 Anthology of Irish Verse.

The Fairy Lover
 
IT was by yonder thorn I saw the fairy host
(O low night wind, O wind of the west!)
My love rode by, there was gold upon his brow,
And since that day I can neither eat nor rest.
 
I dare not pray lest I should forget his face
(O black north wind blowing cold beneath the sky!)
His face and his eyes shine between me and the sun:
If I may not be with him I would rather die.
 
They tell me I am cursed and I will lose my soul,
(O red wind shrieking o’er the thorn-grown dún!)
But he is my love and I go to him to-night,
Who rides when the thorn glistens white beneath the moon.
 
He will call my name and lift me to his breast,
(Blow soft O wind ’neath the stars of the south!)
I care not for heaven and I fear not hell
If I have but the kisses of his proud red mouth.

Comments are good, please leave one.

